The God Allusion

Tom Evans, CIO

Tom Evans, CIO

Like many post-war babies, I grew up in an era of new prosperity and awareness. My parents did what they thought and knew best for me and raised me as a good Roman Catholic boy. Initiation into the priesthood was even on the cards at one point.

Around 13 or so though, I started to question the veracity and relevance of the God I had been given. The model didn’t seem to fit. This wasn’t just peer pressure, discovering rock & roll or noticing the opposite sex. There was just something about Catholicism that didn’t sit right to me as a way to run one’s life in the 20th century.

I focused on science at school and studied Electronics at university so that, by the time I started proper employment, my world view had completely changed. I had a new God, the God of Science. The model of the Universe, evolution, even our own consciousness could all be explained by a Big Bang, a sprinkling of probability and a soup of organic molecules – all catalysed by lightning and left to stew for a few billion years.

The Clockwork Universe with its Blind Creator had pulled off a pretty neat trick of making sentient star dust. The need to pay lip service to a deity didn’t factor. Anyway it also sounded pretty trendy to call yourself an agnostic humanist – and hedge your bets at the same time.

As corporate life segued into building and running my own business, the God of Commerce became my new driver. Success, fame, money and having the latest gadgets were the order of the day. I was even responsible for designing some of them too.

Now I have always taken things apart to see how they worked. To my parents’ chagrin, not always putting them successfully back together. In my early 40’s, I had a Reiki healing session. Up to that point, I thought that The Chakras was just a good name for a band. What happened on that day surprised me and caused me to re-evaluate everything.

Not only did healing occur but I experienced a whole auric body vibration that I still remember vividly. My Reiki healer had even said at the time, “This is weird, Tom.” It had never happened to her in all her years of healing and it wasn’t just a subjective experience as she had felt it too.

What I had experienced that day lead me to challenge my new Gods of Science and Commerce. I had found something new to take apart, analyse and understand.

My journey since then has involved studying esoterics, quantum physics, psychology, cosmology and evolution. It also involved becoming a Reiki healer, studying the Tarot and discovering the way that our conscious mind communicates with our Higher Self through the unconscious.

All of this has led me to realise that there was another God lurking in the shadows – one that had been hijacked by the major world religions, dressed up in dogma and that has been largely forgotten. This is I AM God within each of us.

What fully brought this realisation on was ironically going see Richard Dawkins, having just read his excellent treatment on evolution, The Ancestors Tale. He was talking about his latest book, The God Delusion. What I experienced was a really intelligent man having an easy pop at traditional religion. I found it somewhat ironic that he presented from behind a lectern as if he was giving a sermon from a pulpit. It dawned on me that his, and my, God of Science was no less prone to dogma and blind faith than the ones he was decrying.

The God of Science, for example, can’t find what large swathes of DNA or what most of the brain is for. It also appears that 90% or more of the Universe is hidden in some form of Dark Energy and Matter.

Admittedly, it has taken the scientific approach to be able to ask these questions. It is possible though that these answers can’t found because science is looking in entirely the wrong place. While it is admirable to aim for a Grand Unified Theory, the search will be fruitless unless it integrates consciousness into the model, as opposed to it being merely an epiphenomenon of the evolution of life.

It doesn’t need a rocket scientist to work out that the Gods of all the major different religions must be one and the same. In the same way, it’s clear that there must be common ground between the new Gods of Science and Commerce and the Old Gods and esoteric wisdom. By merging the knowledge from both camps, somewhere in the middle we will reach an even higher level of understanding.

In order to foster this dialogue, there will be a need for a new common language. In spiritual circles, you hear talk of “the new energies” and “the new frequencies of golden blue light”. This language is vague as it’s sometimes difficult to explain the unexplainable. It is interesting that the n-dimensional quantum physicists also have had to rely on the esoteric language of mathematics, which is equally inaccessible and incomprehensible to many.

Achieving this commonality in language is probably as difficult as starting the dialogue between the spiritual and scientific camps in the first place. There are fortunately many thinkers and writers making some good in roads in this direction. This is fueled by a growing appetite for such information from an increasingly secular society.

Our ability to get words out to a wide audience via the Internet and in books, through print-on-demand technology, has never been greater. In the beginning of the last great shift in consciousness was The Word. As we approach a time of the next great shift, the clarity and harmony of collective thought, and the choice of our words, is of paramount importance.

Get free issues and subscribe here

Get free issues and subscribe here

As published in Paradigm Shift in July ’08 – the magazine focusing on ascension

5 Responses to The God Allusion

  1. wendysalter says:

    Yes, here here!! and until we have a common terminology that is acceptable for all dominions of thought, we will be struggling to agree. It has occurred to me that our consciousness is like a child running to keep up with its parent. If there is any risk of DIVISION, in any one party to be the first at the touch tape, we are getting it wrong. If we cannot evolve TOGETHER, we are lost. The areas of life still in the dark are for a reason. Whether it is dark matter, dark energy, lack of light, unused parts of the brain or unused strands of DNA, one thing is for sure…WE AIN’T THERE YET! But bring it on, keep it coming, keep at it, listening, watching, learning, writing, sharing, broadcasting thoughts, getting inspired. Well done Tom! When’s the book coming out?

  2. Thank you Wendy … the end chapter of the book gets written tomorrow – 2.5 years in germination …. then it’s 2nd draft, sample publication for review, 3rd draft, proof reading publication in early 2009 …. exciting stuff

  3. Giuseppe says:

    Hi Tom,
    a friend of mine mail me The 7 Stages of Evolution questioners and from there I met this page on the web. I was very impressed when I have read this article when you mention “the auric body vibration”, and that sound familiar to me, because one night of 2 years ago I had the same, it started after I have seen I bright light coming to me and I felt all my cells of my body were vibrate so much that all my body was shaking, and suddenly I had a feeling that was the Christ that was calling me to wake me up. Since then, all my life has changed completely, loosing wife and job, in order to be ready for the next level, and now I’m a strong believer in the Cosmic Consciousness and in my Being. I would like to ask you more deep information about the auric body vibration, for ex. where it comes and why it comes. I would like also to know if you have some contact in Italy.
    The light will always be with you
    Giuseppe

  4. This is happening increasingly now – if you are receptive, you can receive and tune into new injections of energy – probably all connected with 2012 – will connect with you directly by email Guiseppe

  5. That’s very elegantly put, Tom, if I may say so. Curiouly, I think Dawkins shares the feeling of wonder at the universe, but then loses it as he insists on his own rules of explanation. In the same way, religious thinkers share the wonder, but turn into dull automata when they insist on their rules of explanation. The middle ground seems populated by people who share both the wonder and the enquiring mind, and are always ready to be surprised by new truth, but not by the fact of new truth. Looking forward to the book.

Leave a Reply

